Today, I Declare My Independence Day!

FourthJuly

This sweltering Fourth of July afternoon, I took some time away from my duties at Tequila Aficionado Media to sit outside on our modest patio to enjoy a full bodied Joya de Nicaragua Antaño 1970  cigar from the bundle that  my  sister had so graciously gifted me for my birthday three days before.

For those who don’t follow Tequila Aficionado (and why wouldn’t you?), you may not know that I live in San Antonio, Texas, with Lisa Pietsch, who is a dynamic writer, and also happens to be our COO.

Independence_day_movieposterLisa’s oldest son, Teddy’s, bedroom window faces the patio and I could hear him practicing the iconic speech of President Thomas J. Whitmore played by the prolific actor, Bill Pullman, from the movie, Independence Day.

We had just taken Lisa’s two boys to see the sequel to this beloved film, Independence Day:  Resurgence, at the new Santikos Casa Blanca movie complex which boasts the largest screen in Texas.  Teddy had vowed to learn the entire speech and tape it for his YouTube channel.

Care

Most often, I sit on one of our bright red Adirondack chairs to contemplate the greenery of San Antonio, and to feel gratitude while the neighbor behind us blasts banda music over his loudspeakers.

But today, as Teddy recited the speech in between the occasional bursts of early fireworks, I came to the realization that since I’d moved here three years before, Lisa and I had worked virtually non-stop to make Tequila Aficionado a force to be reckoned with in the tequila world.

In the process, and due to some contractual partnership constraints, I neglecthad neglected my other interests and passions.

Aside from tequila, these range anywhere from fitness, baseball, cigars, men’s fashion, marketing, and writing, to everyday keen and quirky observations.

Then, I heard Teddy’s voice repeat President Whitmore’s classic phrase–

IndependencePullman

“Today, we celebrate our Independence Day!”

I made the decision, right then and there, to declare my own Independence Day.  And not just to declare it, but to celebrate it, too.

Bound and Gagged

I am always in awe at Lisa’s ability to crank out blogs and articles BoundGaggedwhenever the moment inspires her.  On the other hand, I struggle and agonize over the slightest comma and spacing.

Just like the oppressive heat index of Texas, I had stifled my ability to feel joy in my own writing.  Forcing features exclusively for Tequila Aficionado had become drudgery.

I had bound and gagged my own creativity.

Opinions Are Like…

For the past three years, during the course of my daily routines, there would regularly be a news item, an email, a Facebook comment, a Tweet, something–anything–that would incite me to share my opinion in a long winded tirade to Lisa.

“Sounds like a blog post to me,” she would say, knowingly.

Without fail, my notions, perceptions, and sentiments on the subjects had nothing to do with tequila, and I just couldn’t see spending any time writing about them.  I mean–

Who would listen?

Apparently, YOU are.

So, to celebrate my newly reclaimed independence, and to revel in my newfound creative freedom…

Brace

And, you know what they say about people’s opinions, right?

Leave a Reply

